What Are the Different Levels of Skiing?

In general, there are three basic classifications of skiing: beginner, intermediate, and advanced or expert. However, there are more specific levels that typically fall within these three broader categories. Altogether, there are nine more specific levels of skiing. Below, the Mammoth ski rental pros at ASO Mammoth explain all these levels.

Levels 1–4 (Beginner Levels)

These are typically the beginner levels. At level 1, you’re just learning how to ski for the first time. While some skiers don’t necessarily like being considered newbies, the good news is it’s easy to move on from this level fairly quickly.
Level 2 is when you learn to properly and safely turn on your skis. You’ll also want to learn how to use the ski lift at this point. This means learning how to safely and effectively get off the lift and onto the fresh powder below.
By the time you get to level 3, it’s time to start gaining confidence. You’re not really learning too much new at this point. Instead, you’re learning to be comfortable on your skis. This may not seem like a big deal, but added confidence can make a noticeable difference when you start to learn more skills and advance to higher levels.
At level 4, you should be nearly parallel when you do green runs. You’ll also be learning how to link your turns when you get to this level. Additionally, you’ll learn how to use your ski poles for added leverage and control when you’re at this level of skiing.

Levels 5–6 (Intermediate)

By the time you get to levels 5 and 6, you’re no longer a beginner. These levels are generally considered intermediate. At level 5, you’ll be doing both green and blue runs with added confidence. You’ll also be completely parallel and capable of using your poles to improve your timing and control.
When you move on to level 6, you’ll be able to handle multiple types of terrain well. You’ll also be adding off-piste fun to your skiing routine. What’s more, you’ll be using your poles to make smoother turns and moving on to black runs and other more challenging terrain.

Levels 7–9 (Advanced/Expert)

At level 7, you’ll be handling the black runs like a pro. You’ll also be able to confidently and successfully maneuver parallel turns. Plus, you should be in complete control of your moves on your skis at this point and able to use your poles with ease.
At levels 8 and 9, you’ll be mostly improving your technique and form as you continue to take on more challenging terrain. You’ll also be skiing more aggressively. This may involve a few stumbles or falls here and there, but you should be able to maintain control and ski like a pro.

Gray Areas

Most skiers fall in between levels or generally within certain levels. You may also overlap levels or find yourself learning skills from adjacent levels at the same time. This is perfectly fine, since the levels of skiing we just outlined are meant to serve as a general guideline as you learn to ski.

Skiers of every skill level can have a blast on the slopes when they make sure to start off with the right gear. Whether they need to get boots fitted or rent skis, Mammoth visitors can rely on ASO Mammoth for high-quality service and great advice from snow sports experts. Drop by our shop or give us a call at 760-965-3444.